AI industry · public tracker

Accelerator Silicon Tracker

GPU / TPU / ASIC / wafer-scale — architectures, roadmaps, and measured performance, from public primary sources (vendor spec pages, MLCommons, filings). Spec sheets are commitments; benchmarks are throughput. Every number carries a source and an as-of date. Updated 2026-07-10.

← AI industry

Hyperscaler Custom ASICs (Trainium / Maia / MTIA)

Cerebras

Cambricon (688256.SH)

Huawei Ascend

Google TPU

AMD (Instinct)

NVIDIA

Board — Accelerator Silicon (GPU / TPU / ASIC / Wafer-Scale)

Status: active Owner: Finance / Charlie AGT-002 Board ID: BOARD-AI-SILICON Visibility: PUBLIC Last updated: 2026-07-10

Purpose

Track the technical trajectory of AI accelerator silicon — architectures, roadmaps, measured performance, and cost curves — across the merchant GPU incumbents, hyperscaler in-house ASICs, the China domestic stack, and wafer-scale challengers.

Methodology (SemiAnalysis-inspired, public-primitives version): follow the physical primitives — process node, memory type/bandwidth, packaging, scale-up/scale-out interconnect, rack power — from PUBLIC primary sources only (vendor spec pages, architecture whitepapers, MLCommons results, listed-company filings). Spec-sheet numbers are commitments (A2); measured benchmark results and shipment/revenue disclosures are throughput (A3); street pricing and rental rates are price signals (A4).

This board's pages are approved PUBLIC (Hugo, 2026-07-10): technical facts and source-graded tables only. Investment implications, share forecasts, and portfolio linkage stay MEMBERS/INTERNAL elsewhere.

Coverage

Entity pageScope
../entities/nvidia.mdMerchant GPU incumbent — architecture cadence, HBM/interconnect roadmap
../entities/amd.mdMerchant GPU challenger — Instinct line, ROCm maturity signals
../entities/google-tpu.mdHyperscaler in-house ASIC — TPU generations, internal + external availability
../entities/huawei-ascend.mdChina stack lead — Ascend series, SMIC node constraint, cluster-scale workaround
../entities/cambricon.mdChina merchant accelerator — listed (688256.SH), filings-visible revenue
../entities/cerebras.mdWafer-scale challenger — WSE generations, inference-as-a-service pivot
../entities/custom-asic.mdBroadcom/Marvell co-designed hyperscaler ASICs (Trainium, Maia, MTIA, etc.)

Tracked Series

SeriesUnitSource IDCadenceSeries file
Accelerator spec matrixnode / GB / TB/s / FLOPs / WSRC-AI-VENDOR-SPECSEvent (launches) + quarterly sweep../../series/accelerator-specs.md
Measured benchmarksMLPerf results, tokens/s/chipSRC-AI-MLCOMMONSPer MLPerf round (~2/yr) + event../../series/accelerator-benchmarks.md
Roadmap cadencemonths between generations per vendorSRC-AI-VENDOR-SPECSEvent(derived in this board page)
China stack shipments/revenueCNY revenue, units where disclosedSRC-AI-CNINFO-FILINGSQuarterly filings../../series/accelerator-specs.md (rows) + china-ai-stack board

Primary Sources

  • Vendor spec pages / architecture whitepapers (NVIDIA, AMD, Google Cloud, Huawei, Cambricon IR, Cerebras) — Primary
  • MLCommons (MLPerf Training/Inference) results tables — Primary
  • Listed-company filings: Cambricon 688256.SH (cninfo), TSMC/SK Hynix calls for node/HBM context — Primary
  • SemiAnalysis FREE posts — Secondary (never paywalled content; client-conflict caveat)
  • Hot Chips / ISSCC papers — Primary for architecture detail

Current Claims

  • CLAIM-AI-SILICON-001 — custom-ASIC share of accelerator compute rising vs merchant GPU (watch)
  • CLAIM-AI-SILICON-002 — China domestic stack node gap vs frontier, and the cluster-scale/chiplet workaround path (watch)
  • Related: CLAIM-AI-BOTTLENECK-001 (pricing power sits at the current bottleneck)

Noise Rules

  • Ignore un-dated "next-gen chip will be Nx faster" claims without a spec sheet or paper (A1 narrative — log nothing).
  • Peak-FLOPs marketing without precision/sparsity qualifiers is not comparable data; record only with precision noted.
  • Do not infer China-stack parity from single benchmark demos; require reproducible results or filings-visible revenue.
  • Vendor "orders/backlog" leaks are not shipments; only filings and disclosed shipments count as A3.

Series — Accelerator Spec Matrix

Owner: Finance / Charlie AGT-002 Source ID: SRC-AI-VENDOR-SPECS (vendor spec pages / whitepapers), SRC-AI-CNINFO-FILINGS (China stack) Unit: mixed — process node, memory GB, bandwidth TB/s, dense FLOPs by precision, TDP W, interconnect GB/s Cadence: event-driven (launches) + quarterly sweep Visibility: PUBLIC As-of convention: every row carries the as-of date the spec was verified and a source grade; peak FLOPs must state precision (and sparsity if applicable)

How to append: one row per chip per verification pass. When a vendor revises a spec (e.g. memory config bump), append a NEW row with the new as-of date — do not edit old rows. Status values: shipping | announced | rumored (rumored rows require grade 🟠 or worse and are excluded from public claim support).

As-ofVendorChipStatusNodeMemory (type / GB / TB/s)Dense FLOPs (precision)TDP (W)Scale-up interconnectSourceGrade
2026-07-10NVIDIAB300 (Blackwell Ultra, in GB300 NVL72)shippingTSMC 4NPHBM3e / 288 / 8.015 PF dense FP4 (NVFP4) per GPU; rack: 1,080 PF dense FP4, 720 PF FP8/FP6 (sparsity basis per spec page)n/a (secondary reports ~1,400)NVLink 5 — 1.8 TB/s per GPU; 130 TB/s aggregate per NVL72 rackhttps://www.nvidia.com/en-us/data-center/gb300-nvl72/ + https://developer.nvidia.com/blog/inside-nvidia-blackwell-ultra-the-chip-powering-the-ai-factory-era/🟢
2026-07-10NVIDIARubin GPU (Vera Rubin NVL144)announced (CES 2026 "full production"; ramp 2H2026)TSMC 3nm-class (press)HBM4 / up to 288 / 22 (vendor keynote)50 PF NVFP4 inference, 35 PF NVFP4 training per GPU (vendor; dense/sparse basis not stated)n/aNVLink 6 (2x per-link vs NVLink 5, vendor); NVL144 rack: 3.6 EF NVFP4https://www.servethehome.com/nvidia-launches-next-generation-rubin-ai-compute-platform-at-ces-2026/ + https://www.tomshardware.com/pc-components/gpus/nvidias-vera-rubin-platform-in-depth-inside-nvidias-most-complex-ai-and-hpc-platform-to-date🟡 (keynote via credible secondary; official spec page pending)
2026-07-10AMDInstinct MI355XshippingTSMC 3nm + 6nm chiplets (CDNA 4)HBM3E / 288 / 8.05.0 PF dense FP8 (10.1 PF w/ 2:4 sparsity); 10.1 PF FP4 (MXFP4); 2.5 PF dense FP161,400 (TBP, liquid-cooled)Infinity Fabric — 7 links x 153 GB/shttps://www.amd.com/en/products/accelerators/instinct/mi350/mi355x.html🟢
2026-07-10AMDInstinct MI455X (Helios rack)announced (CES 2026; 2H2026)TSMC N2 compute chiplets (press)HBM4 / 432 / 19.6 (vendor)40 PF FP4, 20 PF FP8 per GPU (vendor; dense/sparse basis not stated)n/aHelios rack: 72x MI455X; 2.9 EF FP4 per rack (vendor)https://www.amd.com/en/newsroom/press-releases/2026-1-5-amd-and-its-partners-share-their-vision-for-ai-ev.html + https://www.tomshardware.com/tech-industry/artificial-intelligence/amd-touts-instinct-mi430x-mi440x-and-mi455x-ai-accelerators-and-helios-rack-scale-ai-architecture-at-ces-full-mi400-series-family-fulfills-a-broad-range-of-infrastructure-and-customer-requirements🟡 (announcement; official datasheet pending)
2026-07-10GoogleTPU v7 Ironwood (TPU7x)shipping (GA on Google Cloud)n/a (not disclosed)HBM3e / 192 / 7.374.614 PF FP8, 2.307 PF BF16 per chip (peak, per official docs; sparsity not stated)n/aICI 1.2 TB/s bidirectional per chip; pods to 9,216 chipshttps://docs.cloud.google.com/tpu/docs/tpu7x + https://blog.google/innovation-and-ai/infrastructure-and-cloud/google-cloud/ironwood-tpu-age-of-inference/🟢
2026-07-10GoogleTPU v6e Trilliumshippingn/a (not disclosed)HBM / 32 / 1.64918 TF BF16, 1,836 TOPS INT8 per chipn/aICI 800 GB/s bidirectional per chip; 256-chip pod (2D torus)https://docs.cloud.google.com/tpu/docs/v6e🟢
2026-07-10HuaweiAscend 910CshippingSMIC N+2 7nm-class (secondary)HBM / 128 / n/a~800 TF FP16 (secondary; dense/sparse basis not stated)n/aCloudMatrix 384: 384 chips on Unified Bus fabric, ~48 TB HBM per system (secondary)https://xpu.pub/2025/04/22/huawei-ascend/ + https://chinaresearchcollective.substack.com/p/huawei-ascend-cloudmatrix-384-supernode🟡 (no official spec sheet published)
2026-07-10HuaweiAscend 950PR (Atlas 350 card)shipping (launched 2026-03; volume ramp 2H2026 per press)n/a (press: SMIC 5nm-class N+3, unverified)HiBL 1.0 in-house HBM / n/a (secondary reports conflict, 112-144 GB) / n/an/a (vendor keynote claims ~1 PF FP8, ~2 PF FP4 for Ascend 950 series; basis not stated, unverified)n/aUB interconnect; vendor claims 2.5x 910C interconnect bandwidthhttps://www.huaweicentral.com/huawei-reveals-3-year-ascend-ai-chip-roadmap-950-coming-in-2026/ + https://www.digitimes.com/news/a20251226PD222/huawei-ascend-nvidia-2025-market.html🟡
2026-07-10HuaweiAscend 950DTannounced (late 2026 per roadmap)n/aHiZQ 2.0 in-house HBM / 144 / 4.0 (keynote via secondary)n/a (adds FP8 / MXFP8 / HiF8 / MXFP4 / HiF4 formats per keynote)n/an/ahttps://convequity.substack.com/p/huawei-ascend-ai-chip-roadmap-and + https://www.huaweicentral.com/huawei-reveals-3-year-ascend-ai-chip-roadmap-950-coming-in-2026/🟡
2026-07-10CambriconSiyuan MLU590shippingSMIC 7nm-class N+2 (secondary)HBM / n/a / n/an/a (vendor publishes no spec sheet)n/an/ahttps://www.tomshardware.com/tech-industry/semiconductors/cambricon-targets-500000-ai-chips-in-2026-as-china-accelerates-domestic-hardware-push🟡 (revenue is filings-visible; chip specs are not)
2026-07-10CambriconSiyuan MLU690rumored (mass production targeted 2026 per press)n/an/an/an/an/ahttps://www.tomshardware.com/tech-industry/semiconductors/cambricon-targets-500000-ai-chips-in-2026-as-china-accelerates-domestic-hardware-push🟠 (no vendor disclosure)
2026-07-10CerebrasWSE-3 (CS-3 system)shippingTSMC 5nmon-wafer SRAM / 44 / n/a (21 PB/s on-chip per secondary)125 PF peak (vendor "AI compute"; precision/sparsity basis not stated on chip page — not comparable until qualified)n/aclusters to 2,048 CS-3 nodes; MemoryX external memory 1.5 TB to 1.2 PBhttps://www.cerebras.ai/chip + https://www.cerebras.ai/press-release/cerebras-announces-third-generation-wafer-scale-engine🟢 (vendor page; missing precision qualifier flagged)
2026-07-10AWS (Annapurna)Trainium3shipping (GA 2025-12-02)3nm-class (press)HBM3e / 144 / 4.92.52 PF FP8 (MXFP8) per chipn/aNeuronSwitch-v1 all-to-all; Trn3 UltraServer to 144 chips (362 PF FP8, 20.7 TB HBM3e)https://aws.amazon.com/about-aws/whats-new/2025/12/amazon-ec2-trn3-ultraservers/ + https://aws.amazon.com/ai/machine-learning/trainium/🟢
2026-07-10AWS (Annapurna)Trainium2shippingn/aHBM / 96 / n/a (secondary)n/a (AWS states Trainium3 = 2x Trainium2 MXFP8 throughput)n/aNeuronLink; Trn2 UltraServer 64 chipshttps://aws.amazon.com/ai/machine-learning/trainium/🟡 (official page lacks per-chip Trn2 sheet)
2026-07-10MicrosoftMaia 200shipping (deployed 2026-01, Azure US Central)TSMC 3nmHBM3e / 216 / 7.0 (+272 MB on-chip SRAM)>10 PF FP4, >5 PF FP8 per chip (vendor; dense/sparse basis not stated)750 (SoC TDP)Ethernet-based two-tier scale-up, 2.8 TB/s bidirectional per accelerator; clusters to 6,144https://blogs.microsoft.com/blog/2026/01/26/maia-200-the-ai-accelerator-built-for-inference/🟢
2026-07-10MetaMTIA v2shipping (internal ranking/recommendation inference)TSMC 5nmLPDDR5 / 128 / 0.205 (+256 MB SRAM at 2.7 TB/s)354 TF dense INT8, 177 TF dense BF16 (708 / 354 with sparsity)90n/ahttps://ai.meta.com/blog/next-generation-meta-training-inference-accelerator-AI-MTIA/🟢
2026-07-10MetaMTIA 300-500 (roadmap)announced (deployment through 2027 per press)3nm + CoWoS reportedn/an/an/an/ahttps://www.tomshardware.com/tech-industry/semiconductors/custom-ai-asics-examined-from-broadcom-to-mtia🟡

Series — Accelerator Measured Benchmarks

Owner: Finance / Charlie AGT-002 Source ID: SRC-AI-MLCOMMONS (MLPerf Training/Inference), vendor reproducible disclosures Unit: benchmark-native (time-to-train, tokens/s, samples/s); perf-per-chip and perf-per-watt derived where system size is disclosed Cadence: per MLPerf round (~2 per year) + event-driven vendor disclosures Visibility: PUBLIC As-of convention: every row carries the MLPerf round or disclosure date and a source grade; derived perf/$ uses list or disclosed pricing with the price source noted

How to append: prefer MLCommons closed-division results (Primary). Vendor self-reported numbers outside MLPerf are 🟡 at best and must be labeled. Never compare across precisions or divisions without noting it.

As-ofSystem (chip × count)Benchmark / roundResultPer-chip derivedPerf/W or Perf/$ (note basis)SourceGrade
2025-11-12NVIDIA Blackwell x 5,120 (GB200/GB300 NVL72 clusters)MLPerf Training v5.1 — Llama 3.1 405B pretraining10 min time-to-train (round record)n/an/ahttps://mlcommons.org/2025/11/training-v5-1-results/ + https://developer.nvidia.com/blog/nvidia-blackwell-architecture-sweeps-mlperf-training-v5-1-benchmarks/🟡 (figure via vendor blog; confirm against MLCommons closed-division results table)
2025-11-12NVIDIA Blackwell x 2,560MLPerf Training v5.1 — Llama 3.1 405B pretraining18.79 min (45% faster than prior-round 2,496-GPU submission)n/an/ahttps://developer.nvidia.com/blog/nvidia-blackwell-architecture-sweeps-mlperf-training-v5-1-benchmarks/🟡 (vendor blog; MLPerf round is Primary)
2025-11-12NVIDIA GB300 NVL72 (72x Blackwell Ultra; Lambda submission)MLPerf Training v5.127% faster than GB200 NVL72 at same scale (per Lambda; see source for benchmark detail)n/an/ahttps://lambda.ai/blog/lambda-mlperf-training-benchmarks-v5.1🟡 (submitter blog)
2025-11-12NVIDIA GB300 NVL72 vs Hopper (same GPU count)MLPerf Training v5.1 — Llama 3.1 405B pretrain / Llama 2 70B LoRA>4x Hopper (405B pretrain), ~5x (70B LoRA) at equal GPU countgeneration-over-generation per-GPU ration/ahttps://blogs.nvidia.com/blog/mlperf-training-benchmark-blackwell-ultra/🟡 (vendor blog; cross-generation ratio, not absolute)
2025-09-10NVIDIA GB300 NVL72 (Blackwell Ultra MLPerf debut)MLPerf Inference v5.1 (published 2025-09)New inference records in Blackwell Ultra debut round incl. DeepSeek-R1 and Llama 3.1 405B categories (figures in source)n/an/ahttps://developer.nvidia.com/blog/nvidia-blackwell-ultra-sets-new-inference-records-in-mlperf-debut/ + https://www.hpcwire.com/2025/09/10/mlperf-inference-v5-1-results-land-with-new-benchmarks-and-record-participation/🟡 (vendor summary of Primary round)

Technical facts only — no investment advice. Peak FLOPs are not comparable across precisions; spec-sheet numbers are not measured throughput.