Robotics Morning Review Artifact — Tesla / Figure / Unitree evidence split
Date: 2026-06-16
Owner: Hugo / Genius Team
Research owner: Finance / Charlie AGT-002
Status: SYNTHESIS_CANDIDATE
Visibility: PUBLIC
Output target: morning review / slide 11 / /robotics/companies
Related files:
knowledge/robotics-research-harness.mdknowledge/robotics-tesla-figure-unitree-public-evidence-ledger-v1.mdknowledge/robotics-oem-evidence-trap-card-tesla-figure-unitree-2026-06-16.mdknowledge/robotics-figure-unitree-warrior-brief-v1.mdknowledge/robotics-tesla-optimus-public-evidence-card-2026-06-16.md
Public-safety flag: PUBLIC if used as written. No Hugo private portfolio data. No trade recommendation. No supplier-customer rumor.
0. One-line answer
截至 2026-06-16,Tesla / Figure / Unitree 不应被包装成“谁赢”的单一排行榜,而应被包装成三条不同证据曲线:Tesla = capacity intent,Figure = deployment + manufacturing KPI,Unitree = cost-access + developer-platform。三者都已从 demo-only 叙事进入 S3/S4 证据跟踪,但都还没有公开证明 S5 scaled commercial economics。🟢/🟠
核心句:
Three evidence curves, not one horse race. Capacity is not production; deployment KPI is not economics; low price is not reliability or margin.
1. Why this artifact exists
现有材料已经足够厚;本文件的增量是给早晨 review 和 Codex 一个可直接压成一页的高密度证据卡。
需要避免三类误读:
- 把 Tesla 的 designed capacity 写成当前产量。🟠
- 把 Figure 的 BMW / BotQ KPI 写成客户 ROI、公司毛利或 repeat order 已验证。🟠
- 把 Unitree 的低价写成可靠性、出货规模、毛利率或客户 payback 已验证。🟠
2. Evidence split table
| Company | Evidence curve | Strongest public anchor | What it supports | What it does not support | Signal grade |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Tesla Optimus | Capacity intent / manufacturing infrastructure | Q1 2026 Tesla 8-K Exhibit 99.1 disclosed Fremont first-generation Optimus line designed for 1M robots/year and Texas second-generation line with long-term designed annual capacity of 10M robots; filed 2026-04-22. 🟢 | Tesla treats Optimus as a manufacturing-scale program rather than only a demo/lab effort. 🟢/🟠 | Current production rate, accepted units, yield, utilization, factory ROI/payback, external paid customers, robot revenue, gross margin, named suppliers. 🔴 unsupported by reviewed filings | S4 infrastructure signal |
| Figure AI | Deployment KPI + manufacturing KPI | BMW: 11-month deployment, 10-hour shifts Monday-Friday, 90,000+ parts loaded, 1,250+ runtime hours, contribution to 30,000+ BMW X3 vehicles. BotQ: 350+ Figure 03 robots delivered, 1/day to 1/hour cadence, >80% EOL FPY, 99.3% battery-line FPY, 9,000+ actuators. Figure official posts dated 2025-11-19 and 2026-04-29. 🟢 | Figure has unusually concrete public evidence that humanoids can perform measured work in bounded industrial settings and that Figure is building manufacturing-process capability. 🟢/🟠 | Contract value, robot count by customer, customer-confirmed ROI/payback, repeat order, uptime/intervention distribution, robot revenue, gross margin, service/support burden. 🔴 not disclosed | S4 deployment / manufacturing signal |
| Unitree / 宇树 | Cost-access / developer platform | Unitree official product pages captured in prior artifacts: R1 / R1 AIR around/from US$4,900, G1 from US$13.5K, H2 US$29,900; H2 Plus / G1-D pages reference NVIDIA Jetson / Isaac GR00T / TeleOp / Sim and data/model workflow. 🟢 as of 2026-06-10 capture | Unitree has the clearest public low-cost humanoid hardware access signal; lower hardware price can expand experimentation and developer adoption. 🟢/🟠 | Industrial reliability, autonomy, shipment scale, repeat paid deployments, support cost, gross margin, customer ROI/payback, software/data value capture. 🔴 not shown by product pages alone | S3/S4 cost-access signal |
3. Slide 11 draft
Title: Tesla / Figure / Unitree: three evidence curves, not one horse race
Subtitle: The sector is no longer demo-only, but public evidence still stops short of S5 economics.
Card 1 — Tesla: capacity intent
- Proven: filing-backed Fremont 1M/year designed line and Texas 10M/year long-term designed annual capacity. 🟢 Tesla Q1 2026 Form 8-K Exhibit 99.1, filed 2026-04-22.
- Trap: designed capacity is not current production. 🟠
- Missing S5: actual output, accepted units, yield, runtime, intervention, ROI/payback, external revenue, gross margin. 🔴 unsupported by reviewed filings.
Card 2 — Figure: deployment + manufacturing KPI
- Proven: BMW 1,250+ runtime hours / 90,000+ parts / 30,000+ X3 vehicles; BotQ 350+ robots / 1 robot per hour cadence / >80% EOL FPY / 99.3% battery-line FPY. 🟢 Figure official posts dated 2025-11-19 and 2026-04-29.
- Trap: deployment KPI is not full unit economics. 🟠
- Missing S5: contract value, robot count by customer, ROI/payback, repeat order, intervention rate, revenue, gross margin, service burden. 🔴 not disclosed.
Card 3 — Unitree: cost-access platform
- Proven: humanoid price anchors around US$4.9K–29.9K plus developer/model workflow references around H2 Plus and G1-D. 🟢 Unitree official product pages captured 2026-06-10.
- Trap: low price is not reliability or margin. 🟠
- Missing S5: shipments by model/customer, industrial uptime, repeat paid deployment, warranty/support cost, gross margin, customer ROI, software/data monetization. 🔴 not shown by reviewed pages.
Footer: Evidence map only. No winner ranking. No trade recommendation. Capacity ≠ production; deployment KPI ≠ economics; low price ≠ reliability/margin.
4. Signal vs noise
Signal
- Tesla filing-backed site/capacity language: named site + quantified designed capacity + dated SEC filing. 🟢 as of 2026-04-22 filing.
- Figure BMW deployment KPI: named customer + duration + shifts + runtime + task count + production contribution. 🟢 as of 2025-11-19 post.
- Figure BotQ manufacturing KPI: delivered robots + cadence + yield + battery/actuator output. 🟢 as of 2026-04-29 post.
- Unitree price/product/tooling pages: useful only for cost-access and developer-platform claims. 🟢 as of 2026-06-10 internal capture.
- Cross-company evidence-type classification: useful packaging synthesis, not a primary fact source. 🟠 Charlie synthesis, 2026-06-16.
Noise unless upgraded
- Viral demo video without runtime, reset count, intervention data, task repeatability, customer site, or safety context. 🔴
- Designed capacity treated as actual output or accepted units. 🟠
- Customer logo/commercial agreement treated as ROI/payback without robot count, contract value, utilization and repeat-order evidence. 🟠
- Low price treated as gross margin, reliability, autonomy or deployment proof. 🟠
- Supplier rumor attached to Tesla / Figure / Unitree without named OEM confirmation, order value, revenue exposure or filing support. 🔴
5. What would change the classification
Tesla upgrades toward S5 if primary sources disclose:
- Quarterly Optimus actual output, accepted units, or internally deployed units. 🟢
- Production yield, line uptime, bottleneck and cost-curve data. 🟢
- Factory task success, runtime, intervention rate and safety data. 🟢
- Internal factory productivity gain, cost saving or ROI/payback. 🟢/🟡
- External paid customer, price, contract value, repeat order, robot revenue or gross margin. 🟢
Figure upgrades toward S5 if official/customer-side sources disclose:
- Customer-confirmed ROI/payback or productivity improvement. 🟢/🟡
- Robot count by customer/site and paid deployment terms. 🟢
- Repeat orders across BMW / Catalyst / additional named customers. 🟢
- Uptime/intervention distribution over long-duration deployments. 🟢/🟡
- Revenue, gross margin, service cost or fleet economics. 🟢/🟠
Unitree upgrades toward S5 if official/customer-side sources disclose:
- Humanoid shipments by model and customer type. 🟢
- Industrial/commercial deployment runtime, uptime and intervention data. 🟢/🟡
- Repeat orders, contract value, channel sell-through or service revenue. 🟢/🟡
- Product-line gross margin, support cost, warranty/service burden. 🟢/🟠
- Evidence Unitree captures software/data/deployment value rather than only hardware ASP. 🟢/🟠
6. Common misconceptions
Misconception 1: Tesla has the largest capacity number, so Tesla already leads real deployment.
Correction: Tesla currently has stronger capacity-intent evidence; Figure has stronger public customer-site KPI. Those are different proof types. 🟢/🟠
Misconception 2: Figure's BMW metrics mean humanoid commercialization is solved.
Correction: Figure's BMW metrics are strong S4 evidence because they include duration, runtime, task count and production context. They still do not disclose robot count, contract value, ROI/payback, repeat order, intervention rate or margin. 🟢/🟠
Misconception 3: Unitree's low price means Unitree will capture most value.
Correction: low price lowers experimentation cost and may pressure the industry cost curve; it does not prove industrial reliability, autonomy, support cost, gross margin or value capture. 🟠
Misconception 4: Tesla / Figure / Unitree should be put on one winner leaderboard.
Correction: a leaderboard hides the useful signal. The investable question is which bottleneck is becoming measurable: capacity, deployment, cost, autonomy, economics or supply-chain revenue. 🟠
7. Think Deeper questions
- Which single evidence release would change the sector first: Tesla output/yield, Figure customer-verified repeat ROI, or Unitree verified shipment scale?
- If Unitree compresses hardware ASP before autonomy is solved, does value migrate to model/data platforms, integrators, services, or customers?
- If Tesla keeps Optimus internal for years, should factory productivity/payback be treated as a substitute for robot revenue?
- If Figure remains private but shows the clearest deployment KPI, which public-market proxies actually capture that signal without overfitting supplier rumors?
8. Source list
Tesla:
- Tesla Q1 2026 Update, Form 8-K Exhibit 99.1, filed 2026-04-22: https://www.sec.gov/Archives/edgar/data/1318605/000162828026026551/exhibit991.htm 🟢
- Tesla Q4 2025 Update, Form 8-K Exhibit 99.1, filed 2026-01-28: https://www.sec.gov/Archives/edgar/data/1318605/000162828026003837/exhibit991.htm 🟢
- Internal synthesis:
knowledge/robotics-tesla-optimus-public-evidence-card-2026-06-16.mdandknowledge/robotics-tesla-figure-unitree-public-evidence-ledger-v1.md. 🟠
Figure:
- Figure, “F.02 Contributed to the Production of 30,000 Cars at BMW”, 2025-11-19: https://www.figure.ai/news/production-at-bmw 🟢
- Figure, “Ramping Figure 03 Production”, 2026-04-29: https://www.figure.ai/news/ramping-figure-03-production 🟢
- Figure, “Figure Signs Agreement with Catalyst Brands to Scale Humanoid Operations”, 2026-05-26: https://www.figure.ai/news/figure-signs-agreement-with-catalyst-brands 🟢 for announcement / 🟠 for economics undisclosed
- Internal synthesis:
knowledge/robotics-figure-unitree-evidence-v1.mdandknowledge/robotics-figure-unitree-warrior-brief-v1.md. 🟠
Unitree:
- Unitree R1 product page, captured in prior artifacts 2026-06-10: https://www.unitree.com/R1 🟢
- Unitree G1 product page, captured in prior artifacts 2026-06-10: https://www.unitree.com/g1/ 🟢
- Unitree H2 product page, captured in prior artifacts 2026-06-10: https://www.unitree.com/H2 🟢
- Unitree H2 Plus product page, captured in prior artifacts 2026-06-10: https://www.unitree.com/H2plus 🟢
- Unitree G1-D product page, captured in prior artifacts 2026-06-10: https://www.unitree.com/G1-D 🟢
- Internal synthesis:
knowledge/robotics-unitree-deep-dive-v1.mdandknowledge/robotics-unitree-ipo-primary-source-evidence-debt-tracker-v1.md. 🟠
9. Packaging guardrails for Codex
Codex should preserve:
- “Three evidence curves, not one horse race.”
- “Capacity ≠ production; deployment KPI ≠ economics; low price ≠ reliability/margin.”
- Tesla = capacity intent; Figure = deployment/manufacturing KPI; Unitree = cost-access / developer-platform.
- S4/S3-S4 classification; do not upgrade any to S5.
Codex must exclude:
- Hugo private portfolio information.
- Trade recommendation or buy/sell/hold wording.
- Supplier rumors or named supplier inference.
- Claims that 1M/year or 10M/year is actual Tesla Optimus production.
- Claims that Figure has proven scaled humanoid economics.
- Claims that Unitree low price proves reliability, shipment scale, gross margin or customer ROI.